My typical day with a 1-year-old

I put off writing this a few weeks — Lissie’s birthday was late July, actually — because our schedule has been really topsy turvy as of late. On her birthday, she started going to a day care center, which meant a structured routine and just one nap a day.

I stopped weaned the night feedings on her birthday. For the most part, after that, she stored waking up at 3 a.m. for a few weeks, but when she was started walking around the middle of August, the night waking started again. So here we are, at 13.5 months:

6 a.m.  Get up for the day and nurse.

6:30 a.m. On a good day, go for a run. Realistically, this happens two days a week. If I get fyi sleep in the extra 40 minutes, I usually take it.

7:20 a.m. World’s fastest shower, clothes and make-up.

7:40 a.m. Leave for day care. She has breakfast at day care when she arrives around 8:10 a.m.

8:30 a.m. Arrive at work.

Lissie takes one nap at day care from 11:30 to 1:30 ish. And I don’t pump any more! I went from 3x per day at 10 months to 2x, then down to 1x per day at 11 months. I phased it out and burned through the rest of her frozen milk by two weeks after her birthday.

I do not miss pumping at work.

4 p.m. Her father picks her up from day care.

5 p.m. I’m home from work! We nurse, then do a fun activity outside together while Dad makes dinner.

6:30 p.m. Dinner. She is getting most of her nutrition from solid now.

7 p.m. Bath, books, nurse, bed. She’s usually out by 7:45. This hasn’t changed much since the last time.

Things that I have learned since the last time

  • It was a hard decision to night wean but I did it for as long as I could stand it, and when I did, I know it was the right time because she adapted within a few days.
  • That said, I’m still nursing at night since she’s had a cold the last few days.
  • The babyhood, it was over so quickly.



Things that I see changing

  • She can walk! She’s made huge jumps in the last two months towards independence. It’s thrilling and also a little scary, like, I am a parent of another human being with a will and personality.
  • My willingness to entertain the possibility of going through all this again with another kid.
  • This series. I don’t see her month to month changes as being that dramatic any more, so this will be the last one. Thank you guys for all the and feedback.
Pattie Reaves

About Pattie Reaves

I'm a new mom and renegade fitness blogger at After the Couch. I live in Brewer with my husband, Tony, our daughter Felicity, and our two pugs, Georgia and Scoop.